2007 US National Coaches Education Conference Set to Begin

FasterSkierSeptember 12, 2007

Just a few days away from the start of the US Ski Team’s biennial coaches education event, participant numbers have settled at just over seventy. With attendees traveling to Colorado Springs from Sweden, Canada, and all over the US, the 2007 roster includes nearly twenty-five women. This figure is a significantly higher ratio of female participants than what this conference has seen in recent years.

Kicking off the opening presentation this year is 1972 Olympic diving gold medalist, Micki King. Although the gold medal was brought home to the US that year from Munich, Micki’s career as a prominent female figure in sport was only beginning. Today, her bio boasts of many achievements, including capturing 9 US Diving Championships. She is a retired US Air Force Colonel, a charter Chairperson on the USOC’s Athlete Advisory Council, and was the first woman assigned to duty at the US Air Force Academy. Micki is a member of President Ford’s Commission to Study Amateur Sports, a charter member of the Women’s Sports Foundation, and was the first woman to coach a male to an NCAA Championship gold. This Friday, Micki will open the conference with a bit of perspective. Her presentation is titled, “That was Then and This is Now”.

Attached to this posting is a finalized conference schedule and a list of corresponding abstracts to detail the upcoming education conference. Thank you to everyone that has carved out the time to come to Colorado to delve further into the sport of XC skiing. We look forward to seeing you there! For those unable to attend for the weekend, the entire conference will be filmed and burned to DVD. Distribution of the production will occur later this fall, and details will be posted to Faster Skier.

Please use the links below to view the schedule of events and associated abstracts in PDF form.
Final Schedule
Conference Abstracts

2007 Conference Participant Name and Club List

Birgit Weaver Hollyburn Jackrabbit Ski Club
Jake Weaver Hollyburn Jackrabbit Ski Club
Adam St. Pierre Boulder
Carina Hamel Burke Mountain Academy
Lisa Patterson Lakehead and Big Thunder Nordic Ski Teams
Reid Lutter NCCSEF, Minnesota Valley
Pete Leonard FXC/Nordic Ski Club Fairbanks
Dave Stewart University of Denver
Patty Ross Middlebury College
Andrew Gardner Middlebury College
Eileen Carey Maine Winter Sports Center
John Jaques Rocky Mountain Racers
Alexei Sotskov Vermont Academy
Sara Miller Eagle River Nordic Racing
Joe Haggenmiller Michigan Tech
Cami Thompson Dartmouth College
Peter Graves Harvard
Scott Jerome University of Alaska Fairbanks
Ethan Townshend Saint Lawrence University
Ali Deines Jackson Hole Ski and Snowboard Club
Dave Slovisky Lander Valley High School Ski Team
JD Downing XC Oregon
Mike Young Copper Country Ski Tigers
Jenny Abraham Crested Butte and Gunnison
Larissa Sigurdsen Crested Butte and Gunnison
Justin Easter Summit Nordic Ski Club
Rick Kapala Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation
Abi Holt Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation
Chris Mallory Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation
Larry Bruce Glacier Nordic Ski Team
John Callahan Aspen Ski Club
Nathan Alsobrook Bowdoin College Ski Team
Gro Aase Lunde Bozeman Ski Foundation
Margaret Mahar New York Ski Education Foundation
Kirk Nordgren Carmichael Training Systems
Jason Cork Durango Nordic
Eric Pepper Boulder Nordic Junior Racing Team
Travis Jones Steamboat Springs Winter Sports Club
Dan Weiland Vail Nordic Ski Team
Roger Archambault National Team Head Coach-Biathlon Canada
Brian Tate Steamboat Springs Winter Sports Club
Donna Smyth WILDXC and NENSA
Eli Brown University of Utah
Kristina Casey University of Utah
Grethe Hagensen Montana State University
Johannes Thum Colorado Rocky Mountain School
August Teague University of Reno
Eric De Nys Canadian National Ski Team
Celine Feagan Paranordic Biathlon Canada
Tom Holland Cross Country Canada
Bruce Cramner University of Colorado at Boulder
Becky Woods Bates College Ski Team
Joan Skinstad University of Alberta (Augustana Campus)
Maureen Kershaw Women on Skis for Cross-Country Canada
John Dyste Holmenkol
Ben Grasseschi Auburn Ski Club
Kateri Mills Cross Country Ontario
Mike Elliot Durango Nordic
Matt Whitcomb US Ski Team
Pat Casey US Ski Team
John Kremelmeyer US Disabled Ski Team
Zeke US Disabled Ski Team
Justin Carlstrom US Ski Team (Physiologist)
Jon Hammermeister Eastern Washington University
HC Holmberg Swedish National Ski Team (Physiologist)
Chris Grover US Ski Team
Peter Vordenberg US Ski Team
Susie Parker-Simmons USOC
Zach Weatherford USOC
Micki King
Jim Stray-Gunderson
Nathan Shultz Boulder Nordic Sports


Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply