Canadian 2011 Junior/U23 Nordic World Championship Teams Announced

Ben TheyerlJanuary 11, 2011

January 10, 2011 – The following athletes are selected to Canada’s Junior and U23 Nordic World Championships Teams competing in Otepaa, Estonia from Jan.25-31, 2011 –  a selection synopsis will follow.

Junior World Championships – Heidi Widmer (Foothills Nordic/AWCA) – Annika Hicks (Canmore Nordic/AWCA) – Janelle Greer (Whitehorse/AWCA) – Heather Mehain (Soveriegn Lake/BC Ski Team) – Andy Shields (Waterloo Region Nordic/ NDC Thunder Bay) – Patrick Stewart-Jones (Nakkertok/Équipe du Québec) – Jordan Cascagnette (Team Hardwood/AWCA) – Russell Kennedy (Canmore Nordic) – Aaron Gillmor (Rocky Mountain Racers/AST)

U23 World Championships – Emily Nishikawa (Whitehorse/AWCA) – Alysson Marshall (Larch Hills/AWCA) – Sara Hewitt (Foothills Nordic/AWCA) – Erin Tribe (Team Hardwood/NDC Thunder Bay) – Alex Harvey (Club Nordique M.S.A/NST) – Len Valjas (Team Hardwood/NDC Québec/NST) – Kevin Sandau (Foothills Nordic/AWCA/NST) – Jess Cockney (Foothills Nordic/AWCA) – Michael Somppi (Lappe Nordic/NDC Thunder B Released by CCC

Ben Theyerl

Ben Theyerl was born into a family now three-generations into nordic ski racing in the US. He grew up skiing for Chippewa Valley Nordic in his native Eau Claire, Wisconsin, before spending four years racing for Colby College in Maine. He currently mixes writing and skiing while based out of Crested Butte, CO, where he coaches the best group of high schoolers one could hope to find.

Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply