National U16 Camp Announces Selections & Program for Summer 2017

The eighth edition of the NNF/USSA National U16 Camp will be held Sunday July 23, 2017 (arrival day) to Sunday, July 30 2017 (departure day) in Sun Valley, Idaho hosted by the Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation and the Sun Valley Community School. The NU16 camp brings together the top U16 Boys and Girls from across the USA for a week of intensive training and ski sport education as one of the first steps in the USSA National Development Pipeline. The National Nordic Foundation has designated the NU16 camp as one of its Pillar Projects and the NNF has been instrumental in helping the NU16 Camp grow into one of our country’s key athlete development initiatives. The camp rotates in location throughout the country and this year’s camp will be held on the Community School Campus in Sun Valley, Idaho. The Sun Valley area offers ideal training venues in a beautiful natural setting. US Ski Team staff will lead the camp along with a selection of top regional coaches from across the US. Selection for the camp is based on results from this year’s US Junior Championships, held in Lake Placid, NY. In addition to the top twenty boys and top twenty girls selected via JN results, each USSA Division is afforded two discretionary picks of one boy and one girl(must have competed as a U16 last season). The discretionary selections are in addition to however many skiers may have qualified via the JN selection procedure. It is up to each division to select these discretionary picks and forward those selections onto the camp director, Rick Kapala of the Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation Please provide these divisional selections no later than May 1st, 2017 and also be sure to inform the discretionary picks of their selection.

Attendees are required to organize their own flights into either Sun Valley, ID or Boise ID to arrive on Sunday, July 23 in Boise by 3pm or to Sun Valley by 5pm and to depart on the following Sunday, July 30 by 5pm at either airport. For skiers arriving and departing both Boise and Sun Valley, we will provide all airport shuttles. For skiers driving into Sun Valley, we will provide drop off directions. Lodging, meals and all associated camp costs( except airfare) are included in the camp fee of $675.00. Skiers who have been selected through the JN selection procedure (see attached list) may immediately confirm their attendance by emailing Camp Director Rick Kapala at Divisional leaders should make their discretionary selections as soon as possible and inform both Rick Kapala and the selected athletes of their naming. Please assist us by disseminating this announcement and selection list to the selected skiers in your divisions so that they are aware of this opportunity.

Once participants have confirmed their participation by emailing Rick Kapala, they will receive a registration packet via email with camp forms, schedule, camp info and payment instructions.


Thank you to all of the committed athletes, coaches, sponsors, race organizers and parents who are helping elevate our sport of Cross Country Ski Racing across the USA.

2017 National U16 Camp Selections based on Junior National Championships

Lake Placid, NY

(World Cup scoring based on best 2 results, both the sprint qualifier and the final results are scored but a skier may only use either the qual or the final)

Boys Selections

  1. Haydn Halvorsen (Sugar Bowl Ski Team & Academy) FW
  2. John Hagenbuch (Sun Valley SEF) IMD
  3. Will Koch (Stratton Mountain School) NE
  4. George Cvancara (Alaska Nordic Racing) AK
  5. Joshua Valentine (Gunstock Nordic Association GNA) NE
  6. Skylar Patten (Park City NSC) IMD
  7. Lane Myshrall (Park City NSC) IMD
  8. Peter Moore (Endurance United) MW
  9. Eli Hermanson (Alaska Winter Stars) AK
  10. Griffin Wright (Craftsbury Nordic) NE
  11. Cooper Anderson (Auburn Ski Club Associates Inc.) FW
  12. Walker Hall (Methow Valley Nordic SEF) FW
  13. Hunter Greene (Mount Bachelor SEF) PN
  14. Will Lange (Mount Bachelor SEF) PN
  15. Matthew Moreau (Cambridge Sports Union) NE
  16. Kai Mittelsteadt (Bridger SF) IMD
  17. Henry Hall (Loppet Nordic Racing) MW
  18. Alexander Nameth
  19. James Schneider (Loppet Nordic Racing) MW
  20. Peter Haynes (Summit Nordic SC) RM

Girls Selections

  1. Novie Mccabe (Methow Valley Nordic SEF) PN
  2. Sydney Palmer-Leger (Park City NSC) IMD
  3. Kendall Kramer  (NSC Fairbanks-FXC) AK
  4. Anna Lehmann (Stratton Mountain School) NE
  5. Sarah Morgan (Wasatch Nordic SA) IMD
  6. Bridget Donovan (Ski & Snowboard Club Vail) RM
  7. Nina Seemann (Auburn Ski Club) FW
  8. Waverly Gebhardt (Steamboat Springs WSC) RM
  9. Annabel Hagen (Jackson Hole SC) IMD
  10. Libby Tuttle (Loppet Nordic Racing) MW
  11. Fiona Max (Mount Bachelor SEF) PN
  12. Anna Shults (Boulder Nordic Junior Race Team) RM
  13. Kaya Ratzlaff (NSC Fairbanks-FXC) AK
  14. Abigail Streinz (Outdoor Sports Institute) NE
  15. Gretta Scholz (Methow Valley Nordic SEF) PN
  16. Anja Jensen (Sun Valley SEF) IMD
  17. Maggie Druckenmiller (NSC Fairbanks-FXC) AK
  18. Charlotte Ogden (Stratton Mountain School) NE
  19. Annika Hanestad (Alaska NR) AK
  20. Izzy Max (Mt. Bachelor SEF) PN


National Nordic Foundation

Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply