(Press Release) 2022 Junior, U23 World Championships Cross Country Teams Announced

FasterSkierJanuary 25, 2022
By U.S. Ski & Snowboard
January 25, 2022

U.S. Ski & Snowboard has announced 24 athletes to represent the United States at the FIS Junior & U23 World Cross Country Championships Feb. 22-27 in Lygna, Norway.

“Following a year filled with constant changes, I am so pleased to see a team fielded with such depth among our roster,” said U.S. Ski & Snowboard Head Cross Country Development Coach Greta Anderson. “We have several spots on this team that were declined because of athletes who are headed to the Olympic Games next week. This progress speaks volumes about our upcoming athletes’ ability not only to adapt but to thrive in uncertain environments and seize opportunities when they present themselves. We are taking this team to Norway, the ‘homeland’ of skiing, and cannot wait to see what they can do at the Championship.”

The following athletes have been selected to represent the United States at the upcoming FIS U23 and Junior World Nordic Championships.

Zanden McMullen races a skate pursuit in Ruka, Finland in November, 2021. (Photo: NordicFocus)
U23 World Championship Team


  • Abigail Jarzin (University of Utah/Salt Lake City, Utah)
  • Lucinda Anderson (University of New Hampshire/Golden Valley, Minnesota)
  • Anabel Needham (Michigan Tech University/Houghton, Michigan)
  • Rena Schwartz (Dartmouth Ski Team/Middlesex, Vermont)
  • Novie McCabe (University of Utah/Winthrop, Wash.) **
  • Sophia Laukli (University of Utah/Yarmouth, Maine) **


  • Zanden McMullen (Montana State University/Anchorage, Alaska)
  • John Steel Hagenbuch (Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation/Ketchum, Idaho)
  • Noel Keeffe (University of Utah/Steamboat Springs, Colorado)
  • JC Schoonmaker (University of Alaska Anchorage/Tahoe City, Calif.)**
  • Benjamin Ogden (University of Vermont/Landgrove, Vermont)**
  • Gus Schumacher (Alaska Winter Stars/Anchorage, Alaska)**
  • Luke Jager (University of Utah/Anchorage, Alaska)**
Sydney Palmer-Leger races a sprint qualifier in Davos in December, 2021. (Photo: NordicFocus)
Junior World Championship Team


  • Sydney Palmer-Leger (University of Utah/Park City, Utah)
  • Kate Oldham (Aspen Valley Ski Club/Carbondale, Colorado)
  • Nina Seemann (Dartmouth Ski Team/Craftsbury, Vermont)
  • Nina Schamberger (Summit Nordic Ski Club/Leadville, Colorado)
  • Samantha Smith (Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation/Sun Valley, Idaho)
  • Annie McColgan (University of Vermont/Bend, Oregon)


  • Finn Sweet (University of Vermont/Waterbury, Vermont)
  • Will Koch (University of Colorado/Peru, Vermont)
  • Michael Earnhart (APU Nordic Ski Center/Eagle River, Alaska)
  • Brian Bushey (University of Utah/Waitsfield, Vermont)
  • Walker Hall (University of Utah/Winthrop, Wash.)
  • Alexander Maurer (University of Colorado/Anchorage, Alaska)

** – Denotes a ‘Decline’ of their respective spot on the team roster due to scheduling conflicts between the Olympic Winter Games & NCAA Regional Championships


Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply