FasterSkierJanuary 1, 2003

 Presque Isle, ME – John Farra, hometown favorite on the Maine Winter Sports Center's Nordic Heritage trails in Presque Isle, Maine
pulled out the win and a thousand dollars in prize money in the Nordic Heritage Sprints, Monday night.

The Sprints started at 3pm with the Qualifying race, racers racing against the clock with only the top 16 times advancing to the Heats.  The race took place on a 700meter course, which wound around the newly built Nordic Heritage Lodge. 

As the stars came out and the lights came on, the racing heated up and the temperature dropped.  With a pause for a brilliant display of fireworks, the Final Heats and Consolation Heats took place and in the end it was John Farra, of the Maine Winter Sports Center, who waited until the final 50meters to pull ahead of Colin Mahood, with Scott McArt and David Stewart in tow.  Jason Lemieux, MWSC won the consolation heat, fifth place and $100. 

On the women's side, Katja Ivanova, skiing for the National Guard, took top honors and top dollars, racing to the front at the start and never relinquishing to the pressure of Aelin Peterson, who fought for second. Sarah Konrad and Haley Johnson rounded out the top four.  Middlebury College's Kate Whitcomb who also won the consolation heat by leading from the start.
In the Junior races, younger brother Jake Whitcomb, also of Middlebury College won  ahead of Holderness' Joel Bradley, Kevin Hart, and MWSC's Reid Doiron.  And for the girls, UVM's Molly Gray held first throughout, ahead of a charging Joanna Kinsmen, and Craftsbury's Elsa Sargent and Susan Dunklee.  Taylor Leach, Middlebury College, won the consolation heat and fifth place.

Men Qualifying Results

Women Qualifying Results

Men Final Results | Jr

Women Final Results | Jr

Junior Men
1. Jake Whitcomb, Middlebury College
2. Joel Bradley, Holderness School
3. Kevin Hart
4. Reid Doiron, Maine Winter Sports Center
5. Andy Leibner
Junior Women
1. Molly Gray, University of Vermont
2. Joanna Kinsmen, Mt. Washington Nordic
3. Elsa Sargent, Craftsbury Nordic
4. Susan Dunklee, Craftsbury Nordic
5. Taylor Leach, Middlebury College
Senior Men
1. John Farra, Alpina/Maine Winter Sports Center
 2. Colin Mahood, xc Oregon/Rossignol
3. Scott McArt, APU
4. David Stewart, Subaru Factory Team/Maine Winter Sports Center
5. Jason Lemieux, Maine Winter Sports Center
Senior Women
1. Katja Ivanova, National Guard
2. Aelin Peterson, Alpina (2002 Olympian)
3. Sarah Konrad, Alpina
4. Haley Johnson, Bates College Nordic Team
5. Kate Whitcomb, Middlebury College


Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply