Time For Otepaa International Dryland Competitions

FasterSkierAugust 12, 2006

Prologue, running race and pursuit is on the agenda this weekend in the annual Suverull competition in Otepaa Estonia.

The competition starts with a rollerski prologue on Friday. The running race is on Saturday and the rollerski pursuit race takes place on Sunday.

Four Olympic champions and 13 Olympic medalists take part. National team skiers from 14 nations are participating in the 16th annual race. Home-town favorite Kristina Smigun has won the event 8 times.

Her competition this year includes Evgenia Medvedeva, Claudia Künzel Nystad, Viola Bauer, Virpi Kuitunen, Aino Kaisa Saarinen , Valentina Shevchenko och Alena Sidko.

Men’s favorites include Andrus Veerpal, Evgeni Dementiev, Lukas Bauer, Tobias Angerer, Mikhail Botvinov, Vassili Rotchev, Ivan Alypov, Rene Sommerfeldt and Anders Södergren .

Former winners in Suverull
1990 Maksim Kozlov Jelena Välbe
1991 Jari Isometsä Ljubov Jegorova
1992 Vladimir Smirnov Piret Niglas
1993 Elmo Kassin, Kalju Ojaste Nonna Abagunova
1994 Andrus Veerpalu Cristel Vahtra
1995 Ingen tävling
1996 Andrus Veerpalu Kristina Smigun
1997 Ivan Batory Kristina Smigun
1998 Ivan Batory Kristina Smigun
1999 Mathias Fredriksson Kristina Smigun
2000 Johann Mühlegg Kristina Smigun
2001 Per Elofsson Pirjo Manninen
2002 Andreas Schlütter Valentina Shevtchenko
2003 Andreas Schlütter Kristina Smigun
2004 Anders Södergren Kristina Smigun
2005 Vassili Rotchev Kristina Smigun

Source: Skidsport.com


Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply