Lars Flora, Kate Whitcomb Win Mt. Itasca SuperTour Classic Races

FasterSkierJanuary 20, 2007

Flora and Whitcomb Win Mt. Itasca Super Tour
By Brian Gregg
Lars Flora of Subaru Factory Team led today’s 10km interval start classical race from start to finish in 24:37.6, leading every split on the 4 X 2.5km course, nearly 40 seconds over second place Zach Violett of FsX. University of Alaska Fairbanks skiers Marius Korthauer of Germany and Vahur Teppan of Estonia tied for 3rd place. The two college skiers were over a minute ahead of the next collegiate competitor. CXC teammates Garrott Kuzzy and Bryan Cook finished 5th and 6th respectively. Henri Soom was the top junior in the field finishing 21st overall. Joe Dubay was the top J1. Flora holds his SuperTour Overall Leader bib.

Kate Whitcomb of FsX won her first SuperTour of the season completing the 5km course in 14:24.3. Martina Stursova of Rossignol and the Czech Republic came in second and Caitlin Compton of CXC finished 3rd. Kristina Strandberg finished 4th just ahead of Aurelia Korthauer of the University of Alaska Fairbanks, the top collegiate skier. Tami Kochen of Atomic was 6th. Elizabeth Quinley of Michigan Tech topped the junior field and finished 12th overall. Lindsey Marshall was the top J1. Compton recaptures the Overall SuperTour leader bib from her CXC teammate Laura Valaas.

Quotes from Winners:
“I started the first lap pretty conservative. I still haven’t been feeling 100 percent in the morning before the races, but I felt good after the first lap. The course was in great shape, although it skis a bit choppy for classic. I am looking forward to tomorrow’s freestyle race.”
-Lars Flora

“I felt great. I have been focusing on this race since I was second in it last year. I was more prepared for this race than others so far this season. I really wanted it today.”
-Kate Whitcomb

Men’s Top 15 Results
1 17 Flora, Lars Subaru Factory NorA 00:24:37.6
2 18 Violett, Zachary FSx / XC-Oregon NorA 00:25:17.4
3 10 Teppan, Vahur Alaska Nanooks SR 00:25:19.8
4 16 Korthauer, Marius Alaska Nanooks SR 00:25:19.8
5 21 Kuzzy, Garrott Team CXC NorA 00:25:35.0
6 14 Cook, Bryan Team CXC NorA 00:25:37.3
7 13 Rogers, Colin FSx/Sun Valley NorA 00:25:43.2
8 30 Greene, Marshall Alpina/XC NorA 00:25:44.6
9 29 Giese, Chad Subaru Factory Team NorA 00:25:45.8
10 19 Haugen, Anders Rossignol Elite/APU NorA 00:25:55.2
11 28 Easter, Justin Subaru Factory Team NorA 00:26:00.7
12 11 Osgood, Brayton XC Oregon/Alpina NorA 00:26:04.2
13 22 Watt, Andre TEAM CXC NorA 00:26:09.0
14 20 Iverson, Mark Rossignol NorA 00:26:19.1
15 24 Liebsch, Matt CXC NorA 00:26:23.6

Women’s Top 15 Result
1 208 Whitcomb, Kate FSx/Sun Valley NorA 00:14:24.3
2 205 Stursova, Martina Rossignol Elite NorA 00:14:34.1
3 207 Compton, Caitlin Team CXC NorA 00:14:43.9
4 218 Strandberg, Kristina Subaru Factory Team NorA 00:14:53.8
5 201 Korthauer, Aurelia Alaska Nanooks SR 00:14:58.3
6 210 Kochen, Tami Atomic/ Northern NorA 00:14:59.5
7 212 Owen, Kristina MTU SR 00:15:15.0
8 219 Underwood, Kate Subaru/Sun Valley NorA 00:15:16.2
9 217 Stuber, Maria NMU SR 00:15:19.4
10 204 Dale, Linn STOLAF SR 00:15:31.6
11 213 Ahern, Kelly NMU SR 00:15:39.0
12 237 Quinley, Elizabeth MTU OJ 00:15:39.6
13 202 De Yong, Nicole FSx/Sun Valley NorA 00:15:40.4
14 215 Coulter, Julia Alaska Nanooks SR 00:15:41.0
15 238 Daabach, Paula Alaska Nanooks SR 00:15:42.3



Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply

Related Posts