NCAA Nordic Qualifiers Announced

FasterSkierMarch 1, 2007


INDIANAPOLIS—The NCAA Men’s and Women’s Skiing Committee announced Tuesday the 74 men and 74 women selected to participate in the 2007 National Collegiate Men’s and Women’s Skiing Championships, to be held March 7-10 at Attitash and Jackson XC in Mt. Washington Valley, New Hampshire. The championships will be hosted by the University of New Hampshire.

Participants are selected on a regional basis from two designated regions for Alpine skiing (East and West Regions), and three designated regions for Nordic skiing (Central, East and West Regions). Bids are awarded to regions using a formula determined by the skiing committee. A maximum of 12 student-athletes (three per gender per discipline) may participate from an institution.

Nordic events will be held March 7 and 9 at Jackson XC. The women’s five-kilometer and men’s 10-kilometer freestyle cross-country races will be conducted March 7. The men’s 20-kilometer and women’s 15-kilometer classical races will be held March 9.

Alpine events will run March 8 and 10 at Attitash. The men’s and women’s giant slaloms will be held March 8, with the men’s and women’s slaloms conducted March 10.

Highlights of the skiing championships will be shown on CBS at 1 p.m. Eastern time, Saturday, May 5. CBS Sports Presents Championships of the NCAA will feature highlights of 17 different NCAA championships; each taking place during the winter season.

NORDIC PARTICIPANTS BY REGION (listed alphabetically by name):

Central Region — Men

Martin Banerud, Northern Michigan
Bill Bowler, Northern Michigan
Kevin Heglund, Michigan Tech
Marius Korthauer, Alaska Fairbanks
Jesse Lang, Michigan Tech
Santi Ocariz, Wisconsin-Green Bay
Henri Soom, Alaska Fairbanks
Vahur Teppan, Alaska Fairbanks
Phil Violett, Northern Michigan

Central Region — Women

Anna Coulter, Alaska Fairbanks
Julia Coulter, Alaska Fairbanks
Linn Dale, St. Olaf
Jenna Klein, Michigan Tech
Aurelia Korthauer, Alaska Fairbanks
Kristina Owen, Michigan Tech
Elizabeth Quinley, Michigan Tech
Morgan Smyth, Northern Michigan
Lindsey Weier, Northern Michigan
Lindsay Williams, Northern Michigan

East Region — Men

Fred Bailey, Colby
Sylvan Ellefson, Bates
Anders Folleras, Vermont
Simeon Hamilton, Middlebury
Nick Kline, Colby
Glenn Randall, Dartmouth
Tim Reynolds, Middlebury
Michael Sinnott, Dartmouth
Benjamin True, Dartmouth
Juergen Uhl, Vermont
Chris Ziegler, Vermont

East Region — Women

Kristen Bednar, St. Lawrence
Emilia Demarchis, Vermont
Susan Dunklee, Dartmouth
Kalie Dunn, St. Lawrence
Cassidy Edwards, Middlebury
Carina Hamel, Vermont
Jenny Hamilton, Middlebury
Katrina Howe, Vermont
Elsa Sargent, Dartmouth
Sara Studebaker, Dartmouth

West Region — Men

Christian Coe, Montana State
Matt DeCarufel, Nevada
Snorri Einarsson, Utah
Fabian Figi, Utah
Matt Gelso, Colorado
Andy Liebner, Alaska Anchorage
Patrick Neel, Western State
Karl Nygren, Colorado
Nathan Park, Montana State
Lutz Preussler, Nevada
Rene Reisshauer, Denver
Andy Richmond, Western State
Kit Richmond, Colorado
Erlend Saetre, New Mexico
Paul Schauer, Alaska Anchorage
Havard Selseng, Denver
Even Sletten, Utah
John Stene, Denver
Rahael Wunderle, Alaska Anchorage

West Region — Women

Annelise Bailly, Denver
Mandy Bowden, Montana State
Paige Brady, Nevada
Annelies Cook, Utah
Polina Ermoshina, New Mexico
Brittany Greer, Alaska Anchorage
Maria Grevsgard, Colorado
Chelsea Holmes, Nevada
Kara LaPoint, Denver
Sarah MacCarthy, Utah
Lenka Palanova, Colorado
Claire Rennie, Montana State
Kasandra Rice, Alaska Anchorage
Kristin Ronnestrand, Colorado
Sara Schweiger, Utah
Devon Spika, Whitman
Laura VanAlst, New Mexico
Jamie Woelk, Montana State
Melanie Zemp, New Mexico

The University of Colorado, Boulder will enter the 2007 National Collegiate Men’s and Women’s Skiing Championships as the defending champion after claiming last year’s crown in dramatic fashion. The Buffaloes finished with 658 team points, 98 more than its nearest contender, second place finisher New Mexico University, thereby achieving the fourth largest margin of victory in the championship’s 53-year history. After bouncing back from a sixth-place start on the first day, Colorado mounted the biggest comeback ever under the current scoring format, and did so one skier short of a full 12-member team.

The Buffaloes claimed four individual titles in addition to the team title. Sophomore Lucie Zikova won the women’s slalom, while sophomore Kit Richmond won the men’s 20-kilometer freestyle race. Senior Jana Rehemaa swept the women’s Nordic events, claiming the title for both the women’s 5-kilometer classic race as well as the women’s 15-kilometer freestyle race. Denver University’s John Stene captured the remaining Nordic title, the men’s 10-kilometer classic. On the Alpine side, senior Abbi Lathrop of Colby College won the women’s giant slalom, while freshman Scott Veenis of the University of Utah won the men’s. Dartmouth’s Karl Johnson rounded out Alpine competition with the national title in men’s slalom.

Dartmouth is one of only four schools in the 22-team field to send 12 racers; traditional NCAA skiing powerhouses Vermont, Colorado and Utah are the others. The Big Green completed a perfect 6-0 season by winning the EISA Eastern Championship Feb. 24 at Middlebury College.

For complete championships information, visit

Source NCAA & Dartmouth skiing Press Releases


Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply