Coaches Vote on the First Annual Natty Awards

FasterSkierJanuary 8, 2008

The First Annual “Natty” Awards were voted in a closed ballot following the final coaches meeting of the week at the US National Championships. The “Natties” are the brainchild of Utah Coach Eli Brown who was looking for a way to celebrate the events of the week. The races in Houghton were tightly fought and presented many skiers to vote for in the following categories. Here are the awards and winners:

Most Inspiring Result (women):
Winner: Caitlin Compton for her large win in the women’s 5k skate.
Honorable Mention: Liz Stephen for her second place in the same race 24 seconds back.

Most Inspiring Result (men):
Winner: Lief Zimmerman for his second place finish in the skate race
Honorable Mention: Noah Hoffman for his results in both distance events- Noah was clearly the strongest junior of these races

Most Improved Team/Club:
Winner: Colby College- The White Mules had a successful week and a collection of strong finishes in the men’s races.
Honorable Mention: APU: the Alaskan powerhouse had success at all levels.


Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply