Korthauers Take Central Region Ski Championsips – Freestyle

FasterSkierFebruary 19, 2008

Aurelia Korthauer of the Alaska Nanooks won the NCAA Central Region Ski Championship freestyle race Saturday in Biwabik, Minn.

Korthauer, a junior, took the 5-kilometer race on a 10-degree day in 15 minutes, 55 seconds.

Morgan Smyth of Northern Michigan University was next in 16:03.1, edging Alaska's Anna Coulter by a half-second. Laura DeWitt and Maria Stuber of NMU were fourth and fifth, respectively.

NMU paced the women's overall standings with 82 points, followed by Gustavus Adolphus College with 72 and Alaska with 68.

Lindsey (Weier) Dehlin was the first racer across the line, but she is no longer a college skier.

In the men's race, senior Marius Korthauer of Alaska continued his domination in the Central Collegiate Ski Association this season, skating through the 10-K course in 28:07, 27 seconds faster than Nanook teammate Vahur Teppan.

Martin Banerud of NMU was third in 28:39, followed by Bjorn Bakken of host Saint Scholastica took fourth and NMU's Bill Bowler placed fifth.

Brian Cook, a former NMU skier, was second in the overall standings, finishing 9 seconds behind Korthauer.

In the men's team standings, Alaska edged NMU, 79-78, while Saint Scholastica was third with 65.

The championships wrap up with classic technique races on Sunday. The race is also the last of eight NCAA qualifiers, after which the 10 men and 11 women who earned a berth to the NCAA Skiing Championships next month will be announced.

Complete college results and team standings.

Source: www.ccsaski.com


Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply