Randall, Jauhojarvi Elected to FIS Athletes’ Commission

FasterSkierJune 12, 2009

The elections for the FIS Athletes’ Commission were held during the FIS World Championships 2009. A total of 27 candidates in the six disciplines stood for election and athletes participating in any of the four FIS World Championships (Gangwon, Val d’Isère, Liberec and Inawashiro) had the chance to elect the representative(s) in their own discipline. The FIS Athletes’ Commission has a total of 12 members and was elected for a four-year period from 2009-2013. Introduced by the 40th International Ski Congress in the spring 1996, the first elections took place during the 1997 FIS World Championships.

Kikkan Randall Racing at US Nationals (Photo: Lance Parrish)
Kikkan Randall Racing at US Nationals (Photo: Lance Parrish)


Those elected by the athletes in 2009 are:

Cross-Country ladies – Kikkan Randall (USA)

Cross-Country men – Sami Jauhojärvi (FIN)

Ski Jumping – Andreas Küttel (SUI)

Nordic Combined – Jan Schmid (NOR)

Alpine Skiing ladies – Anja Pärson (SWE)

Alpine Skiing ladies – Marie Marchand-Arvier (FRA)

Alpine Skiing men – Kilian Albrecht (BUL)

Alpine Skiing men – Ivica Kostelic (CRO)

Freestyle ladies – Karin Huttary (AUT)

Freestyle men – Ryan Blais (CAN)

Snowboard ladies – Juliane Bray (NZE)

Snowboard men – Mateusz Ligocki (POL)

The FIS Council is expected to confirm the composition of the Commission in its meeting on Friday, 12th June. It held its first meeting with the full membership attending during the FIS Calendar Conference in Cavtat-Dubrovnik (CRO) on 22nd May, 2009.


Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply