USSA Announces J1-Scando, Junior Worlds Teams

FasterSkierJanuary 7, 2011
Scott Patterson racing at the Junior World Championships in 2010 in Hinterzarten, Germany.

The U.S. Ski and Snowboard Association announced qualifiers for this year’s Junior World Championships (JWC) and the J1-Scando Trip (J1S) on Twitter this morning.

This year’s JWC takes place in Otepaa, Estonia, while the J1S trip – an annual competition for younger juniors – is in Ornskoldsvik, Sweden.

Athletes could prequalify for the JWC with outstanding finishes at SuperTour events throughout the last year; the rest of the two teams were selected, primarily, based on results at the 2011 U.S. National Championships in Rumford, ME. (Athletes who were sick during the championships could be named to the team discretionarily.)

The JWC team includes six men and six women: CXC’s Jessie Diggins, Stratton’s Heather Mooney, Colorado’s Joanne Reid, APU’s Kinsey Loan, Dartmouth’s Isabel Caldwell, UVM’s Amy Glen, UAF’s Tyler Kornfield, UAA’s Erik Bjornsen, UVM’s Scott Patterson, Stratton’s Skyler Davis, NMU’s George Cartwright, and Denver’s Andrew Dougherty.

J1-Scando qualifiers include APU’s Forrest Mahlen, FAST’s Logan Hanneman, Stratton’s Patrick Caldwell, Minneapolis Ski Club’s Dylan McGarthwaite, Alaska Winter Stars’ Peter Mamrol, Mansfield Union High School’s John Hegman, Alaska Winter Stars’ Annie Liotta and Marion Woods, Stratton’s Cam McDermott, Glacier’s Stella Holt, Go! Training’s Sharmila Ahmed, and FXC’s Hannah Boyer.

The qualifiers for the U-23 World Championships will be announced after Saturday’s skate sprint.


Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply