Northug to Chase Bjoergen in Season Wrap Event

Inge ScheveMarch 28, 2011

Skarverennet, a 38K skate race starting at Finse and finishing at Ustaoset in Norway, typically attracts some of the biggest stars from both the biathlon and cross-country World Cup circuits, and this year is no different. The fields in both the men’s and the women’s race are deep and competitive. What is new this year, is that the race will be run as a pursuit, where the women will get a head start on the men, and the first racer to cross the finish line wins the overall title. How big of a lead the women will get, will be determined by the race directors and the jury, and will be announced the Friday before the race, which is scheduled for April 30.

With the new pursuit format, Petter Northug (NOR) will race against Marit Bjoergen (NOR) and her World Cup competitors, as well as the top men in the world. And biathlete Emil Hegle Svendsen (NOR), who was dropped from the Norwegian national team for the World Championship relay in Oslo, will have a legitimate opportunity to prove that he is indeed faster than the top cross-country skiers. The first man or woman to finish wins the prize money of 100,000 Norwegian Kroner (roughly $18,000) and the use of a Subaru (model of choice) for a year.

The start list in the elite wave indicates that the racers are excited about the new format. Over the past few years, Skarverennet has gained the position as the unofficial season end event, which draws both biathletes and cross-country skiers at the World Cup level. Defending champion Curdin Perl (SUI) will be challenged by current World Champion Northug and several of the top biathletes including Tarjei Boe (NOR) – this season’s break-through wonder boy, and overall Biathlon World Cup winner

Frode Andresen (NOR), who has won Skarverennet several times but didn’t qualify for the World Chamipionships this year, could be another serious contender among the men.  The event organizers are also excited to see what the home town favorite Pål Golberg, 20, from Hallingdal (NOR) can offer after a strong season finish including a World Cup podium. Vincent Vittoz (FRA), Michael Rösch (GER), Anders Söddergren (SWE) and Daniel Richardsson (SWE) are among other big names on the start list.

For the women, most of the top World Cup racers are confirmed for Skarverennet: Marit Bjoergen (NOR), Therese Johaug (NOR), Justyna Kowalczyk (POL), Petra Maidic (SLO), Kristin Størmer Steira (NOR), Charlotte Kalla (SWE) and Astrid Urenholt Jakobsen (NOR) are all in for the fight. The top female biathlete is Manuela Henkel (GER).

Startlist for the elite wave:

Bib No
Name DOB Club
1 Petter Northug Jr 1986 Strindheim
2 Tord Asle Gjerdalen 1983 Holeværingen
3 Martin Johnsrud Sundby 1983 Røa IL
4 Sjur Røthe 1988 Voss IL/Team Manpower
5 Petter Eliassen 1986 Byåsen
6 Odd-Bjørn Hjelmeset 1971 Fjellhug/Vereide-Hyen
7 Tarjei 1988 Stryn
8 Maurice Manificat 1986 Frankrike
9 Jean Marc Gaillard 1980 Frankrike
10 Vincent Vittoz 1975 Frankrike
11 Petter Soleng Skinstad 1989 Gjøvik
12 Thomas Northug 1990 Team Northug
13 Simen Østensen 1984 Fossum
14 Pål Golberg 1990 gol il
15 Kristian Tettlie Rennemo 1984 leksvika
16 Finn Hågen Krogh 1990 tverrelvdalen il
17 Snorri Einarsson 1986 tromsø
18 Anders Sødergren 1977 Sverige
19 Frode Andresen 1973 Hønefoss Skiklubb
20 Ronny Hafsås 1985 Stårheim
21 Daniel Richardsson 1983 Sverige
22 Erik Kurland Olsen 1987 IL/ROS/Team Manpower
23 Chris Jespersen 1983 Byåsen IL/Team Manpower
24 Morten Eilifsen 1984 Henning IL/Team Manpower
25 Roger Aa Djupvik 1981 Fjellhug-Vareide-Hyen IL/Team Manpower
26 Stein Vidar Thun 1981 Klæbu IL/Team Manpower
27 Ole Marius Bach 1988 Byåsen IL/Team Manpower
1300 Michael Rösch 1983 Tyskland
1292 Curdin Perl 1984 Sveits
Bib No.
Name DOB Club
1 Therese Johaug 1988 Tynset IF
2 Marit Bjørgen 1980 Rognes IL
3 Maiken Caspersen Falla 1990 Gjerdrum IL
4 Astrid Urenholdt Jakobsen 1987 Heming IL
5 Kristin Størmer Steira 1981 Forsøk IL
6 Ingvild Flugstad Østberg 1990 Gjøvik Skiklubb
7 Marte Kristoffersen 1990 MVS/IL Varden
8 Celine Brun Lie 1988 Njård
9 Charlotte Kalla 1987 Sverige
10 Petra Maidic 1979 Slovenia
11 Justyna Kowalczyk 1983 Polen
12 Heidi Wang 1991 IL Driv
15 Ragnhild Haga 1991 Heming IL
151 Kari Øyre Slind 1991 Oppdal
16 Barbro Kvåle 1992 Brandbu IF
17 Hilde Lauvhaug 1989 Skrautvål IL
18 Tuva Toftdahl Staver 1990 Heming IL
154 Astrid Øyre Slind 1988 Oppdal
19 Kari Vikhagen Gjeitnes 1985 Henning Skilag
331 Manuela Henkel 1974 Tyskland

Additionally, the race is a citizen event open to skiers of all ambitions. The event is capped at 12.220, and filled up just an hour after the general online registration opened on October 1, 2010.

(From,, March 28, 2011.)

Event web site here.

buy chantix online, buy ventolin inhaler

buy albuterol inhaler,buy combigan online,buy chantix,buy voltaren gel online

Inge Scheve

Inge is FasterSkier's international reporter, born and bred in Norway. A cross-country ski racer and mountain runner, she also dabbles on two wheels in the offseason. If it's steep and long, she loves it. Follow her on Twitter: @IngeScheve.

Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply