Sweden Announces 2011-12 National Teams

Inge ScheveApril 26, 2011

The Swedish National team will consist of 19 skiers, ten men and nine women. New this season is that there will not be a designated men’s sprint team.

“We will work as one team, and the top sprinters will be a part of that team. We see both advantages and drawbacks with this solution, both in terms of the organization, logistics during camps and travel, and in terms of the overall quality of individual workouts,” Swedish national team coaches  Joakim Abrahamsson (men) and Rikard Grip (women) said in a press release from the Swedish Ski Association on Monday.

The Swedish national team director Hans Eric Schultz will continue to finalize the details for the upcoming season.

“We don’t have a final solution quite yet, but hope to get there shortly. But both of the head coaches, Joakim Abrahamsson and Rikard Grip will continue in their positions as head coaches,” Schultz said.

The first national team camp is scheduled for May 10-18, and will take place in Monte Gordo, Portugal.

The development project Team 2015 consists of seven men and seven women.

The 2011-12 Swedish National Team
Anders Södergren, Östersunds SK
Johan Olsson, Åsarna IK
Jens Eriksson, Dala Floda IF
Emil Jönsson, Årsunda IF
Jesper Modin, Piteå Elit
Teodor Peterson, Åsarna IK
Robin Bryntesson, Sollefteå SK
Calle Halfvarsson, IFK Mora SK
Marcus Hellner, Gellivare Skidallians
Daniel Richardsson, Hudiksvalls IF

Ida Ingemarsdotter, Åsarna IK
Maria Rydqvist, Östersunds SK
Hanna Falk, Ulricehamns IK
Hanna Brodin, Åsarna IK
Sara Lindborg, Östersunds SK
Magdalena Pajala, Piteå Elit
Jennie Öberg, Piteå Elit
Charlotte Kalla, IFK Tärendö
Anna Haag, IFK Mora SK

Development Project Team 2015
Fredrik Jonsson, Hudiksvalls IF
Anton Lindblad, Östersunds SK
Patrik Johansson, IFK Skövde
Marcus Ottosson, IFK Umeå
Fredrik Karlsson, Hudiksvalls IF
Tiio Söderhielm, Åsarna IK
Martin Johansson, IFK Mora SK

Emma Wikén, Åsarna IK
Lisa Larsen, Sundbybergs IK
Linn Sömskar, IFK Umeå
Lina Korsgren, Falun-Borlänge SK
Eva Svensson, IFK Mora SK
Mia Eriksson, IFK Tärendö
Helene Söderlund, IFK Mora SK

From Skidor.com, April 18, 2011. By Torbjörn Nordvall, translation Inge Scheve

Inge Scheve

Inge is FasterSkier's international reporter, born and bred in Norway. A cross-country ski racer and mountain runner, she also dabbles on two wheels in the offseason. If it's steep and long, she loves it. Follow her on Twitter: @IngeScheve.

Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply