Day 1 J2 Talent ID Camp

FasterSkierAugust 3, 2011

The first full day of the USSA National J2 Talent Camp, sponsored by the National Nordic Foundation is in the books.  We have 42 charging young athletes here in Sun Valley and the enthusiasm is super high. Today we started off with a classic roll session with focus on Double Pole Technique. The local training environ is great for rollerskiing with miles and miles of separated bike paths surrounded by inspiring mountain scenery. Most skiers accomplished a 1:30 to 2:00 hour workout. The afternoon was the standard strength assessment used at all of the USSA Regional Elite Group Camps. For many of these skiers, this camp is one of their first steps up the National Pipeline, so a session like the strength assessment helps give them some clear objectives on what to do in their training to build their fitness. It’s all about getting better, every day in some way.  Evening presentations included “Learning Strategies” and “Fundamentals of Skating”. Tomorrow we challenge the group with an aerobic uphill time trial on the local Harper’s Hill Climb. We could already see many of them getting psyched for a big effort. You know what we say; “If you are going to push your limits – PUSH HARD”

Thanks to all the sponsors, parents, skiers, coaches, equipment reps…everyone for all you do to help these kids improve.

Visit during the camp to like (vote for) your athletes.

Athletes will post “vote for me” to the Facebook/NCCSEF wall (and if possible post a picture of the camp) then ask their friends and team back home to “like” them. Top 3 Liked vote getters by the end of Camp will be awarded USST BD jacket or race suit and Toko HF wax. You must Like NCCSEF to nominate yourself or to vote.


This is our team!!!

Olivia Amber
Noah Andersen
Louisa Austin
Nichole Bathe
Ian Boucher
Catez Brams
Cully Brown
Gretchen Burkholder
Raylene Chew
Callan Deline
Evelyn Delong
Laurel Fiddler
Tyler Foulkes
Heidi Halvorsen
Hannah Hardenbergh
Ben Hegman
Gavin Hess
Erich Hoefler
Karsten Hokanson
Emily Hyde
Marc Jackson
Pete Karinen
Madison Keefe
Sarrissa Lammers
Katrin Larusson
Alex Loan
Sophie McDonald
Hamish McEwen
Dori McNeill
Sam Merrens
Anika Miller
Max Millslagle
Brooke Mooney
Hadley Moreau
Bria Riggs
Maile Sapp
Haakon Sigurslid
Zoe Snow
Keegan Swirbul
Evan Weinman
Logan Wiginton
Riis Wilbrecht
Maggie Williams
Marion Woods




Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply