The USSA National J2 Camp Announces Selections and Summer 2013 Program

The fourth edition of the USSA National J2 Camp will be held Saturday, July 27, to Saturday, August 3, 2013 in Marquette, Michigan.

The National J2 Camp brings together the top J2 boys and girls from across the country for a week of intensive training and ski sport education as one the first steps in the USSA National Development Pipeline. The National Nordic Foundation has designated the J2 Camp as one of its Pillar Projects and has been instrumental in helping the J2 Camp project grow into one of our country’s key development initiatives.

The camp rotates in location throughout the country and this year’s camp will be held on the Northern Michigan University Campus, home to the always powerful NMU NCAA Ski Team. US Ski Team staff will lead the camp along with a selection of top regional coaches.

NNF logo

Selection for the camp is based on results from US Junior Championships, recently completed in Fairbanks, Alaska. In addition to the automatic selections of the top twenty boys and top twenty girls based on JN results, each USSA division is afforded two discretionary picks of one boy and one girl, in addition to however many may have qualified via the JN selection procedure. It is the responsibility of each USSA Division to select these additional skiers and forward those selections onto the camp director, Rick Kapala of the Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation,

Attendees are required to organize their own flights or ground transport into Marquette, MI to arrive on Saturday, July 27, and to depart on the following Saturday, August 3rd. Lodging, meals and all associated camp costs are included in the camp fee of $585.00. Skiers who have been selected through the JN selection procedure may immediately confirm their attendance by emailing Camp Director Rick Kapala at Participants will receive a comprehensive registration packet upon confirmation. The Final date for confirmation is Friday May 24, 2013.


2013 National J2 Camp Selections


1. Julia Kern – Cambridge Sports Union

2. Katharine Ogden – Stratton Mountain School

3. Lydia Blanchet – APU Nordic Ski Center

4. Hailey Swirbul – Aspen Valley SSC

5. Leah Brams – Cambridge Sports Union

6. Leah Lange – Park City NSC

7. Sofia Shomento – Bridger Ski Foundation

8. Hannah Halvorsen – Sugar Bowl Academy

9. Racquel Wohlk – Sisu Nordic Ski Foundation

10. Taeler McCrerey – Summit Nordic Ski Club

11. Morgan Flynn – APU Nordic Ski Center

12. Katy Bonacci – The Utah Nordic Alliance

13. Nina Armstrong – New York SEF

14. Hannah Rudd – Loppet Nordic Racing

15. Maya Seckinger – Methow Valley XCNC

16. Lauren Jortberg – Boulder Nordic Jr Racing Team

17. Katie Brodie – Steamboat Springs WSC

18. Jordan Floyd – Steamboat Springs WSC

19. Keely Jackson – Central Cross Country Team

20. Amanda Kautzer – Loppet Nordic Racing


1. Koby Gordon – Stratton Mountain School

2. Jake Bassett – Alaska Winter Stars

3. Max Donaldson – NSCFairbanks/FXC

4. Zak Ketterson – Loppet Nordic Racing

5. Logan Diekmann – Bridger Ski Foundation

6. Henry Harmeyer – Mansfield Nordic

7. Bill Harmeyer – Mansfield Nordic

8. Tristan Sayre – FAST

9. Dylan Syben – Unleashed Coaching

10. Henry Trowbridge – Summit Nordic Ski Club

11. Fischer Heimburger – Soldier Hollow

12. Julien Bordes – Unleashed Coaching

13. Gavin McEwen – Cambridge Sports Union

14. Cory Rouw – Sisu Nordic Ski Foundation

15. Zach Williams – Sun Valley SEF

16. Conner Truskowski – APU Nordic Ski Center

17. Joe Bue – NSCFairbanks/FXC

18. Tracen Knopp Alaska Nordic Racing

19. Paolo Takagi-Atilano Boulder Nordic Jr Racing Team

National Nordic Foundation

Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply