USA Cross Country Team for Tour de Ski and World Cup Period 2

Chris GroverDecember 21, 2021
Julia Kern racing this season in Dresden, Germany. (Photo: NordicFocus)

Dear Cross Country Community,

We are pleased to announce the USA Cross Country Team for World Cup Period 2 of the 2021-22 season:

Tour de Ski 2021-22


  • Zak Ketterson Objective          SuperTour Leader
  • JC Schoonmaker Objective          10th World Cup Sprint
  • Ben Ogden Objective          22nd World Cup Sprint
  • Kevin Bolger Objective          29th World Cup Sprint
  • Gus Schumacher Objective          29th World Cup Distance
  • Luke Jager Objective          39th World Cup Sprint
  • Logan Hanneman Discretion         1 WC Sprint Point (30th Dresden Sprint F)
  • Adam Martin Alternate          2 SuperTour Distance Wins



  • Alayna Sonnesyn Objective          SuperTour Leader
  • Jessie Diggins Objective          3rd World Cup Sprint
  • Rosie Brennan Objective          6th World Cup Sprint
  • Hailey Swirbul Objective          18th World Cup Distance
  • Julia Kern Objective          22nd World Cup Sprint
  • Hannah Halvorsen Objective          27th World Cup Sprint
  • Sophia Laukli Discretion         12 WC Distance Points (19th Davos 10 km F)
  • Novie McCabe Discretion         3 WC Distance Points (20th Davos 10 km F)
  • Katharine Ogden Discretion         1 WC Distance Point (30th Ruka 2-day Pursuit)
  • Rosie Frankowski Alternate          2 SuperTour Distance Wins


The above discretionary selections were nominated by a 15-person working group that includes:

  • Dakota Blackhorse von Jess Athlete Rep
  • Ida Sargent Athlete Rep
  • Cami Thompson-Graves Sport Committee Chair / College Coach
  • Jeremy Hecker Senior Club Coach
  • Andy Newell Senior Club Coach
  • Erik Flora Senior Club Coach
  • Pepa Miloucheva Senior Club Coach
  • Pat O’Brien Senior Club Coach
  • Chris Mallory Senior Club Coach
  • Dan Weiland Senior Club Coach
  • Dragan Danevski Senior Club Coach
  • Chris Grover USST
  • Matt Whitcomb USST
  • Jason Cork USST
  • Kate Johnson USST


The nominations were then approved by a discretionary selection review group comprised of:


  • Dakota Blackhorse-von Jess             S. Ski & Snowboard Athlete Rep
  • Sophie Goldschmidt             S. Ski & Snowboard CEO
  • Bryan Fish             S. Ski & Snowboard Sport Development Manager


The above discretionary selection process will be repeated for each period of World Cup this season.  As always, if you have questions or concerns about this process, feel free to contact me directly.



Chris Grover

Cross Country Program Director, U.S. Ski Team

Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply