West Yellowstone Sprint Recap

FasterSkierDecember 9, 2002

Nov 30 –
US Development team skier and APU racer Kikkan Randall managed to out
race Katja Ivanova for the win on Saturday in West Yellowstone Montana.
Rossignol’s Brook Baughman took third ahead of Aelin Peterson, who
won the sprint in Fairbanks. A crash took Aelin out of the race in the
first hundred meters, but the real story of the day was Katna Ivanova
who won the prelim by four seconds over Aelin and US Ski Team skier Wendy

In the men’s race, a broken pole stole any chance of victory for
prelim winner Torin Koos of the US Ski Team. Torin’s prelim time
was almost two seconds better than second place Lars Flora, who ended
up second in the final just behind winner, David Chamberlain. Chamberlain
of the Maine Winter Sports Center and LL Bean had a very strong weekend



Men’s Prelim
1. Torin Koos. USST. 1:52
2. Lars Flora. Unattached. 1:54
3. Andrew Newell. USST-D. 1:54 (Junior)

Women’s Prelim
1. Katja Ianova. Rossi. 2:10
2. Aelin Peterson. Alpina. 2:14
3. Wendy Wagner. USST. 2:15

Men’s final
1. David Chamberlain. MWSC/LL Bean
2. Lars Flora
3. Colin Mahood. Rossi
4. Torin Koos. USST

Women’s final
1. Kikkan Randall. APU/USST-D
2. Katja Ivanova. Rossi.
3. Brook Baughman. Rossi.
4. Aelin Peterson. Alpina

Next stop on the Nor/Am circuit is Silverstar, BC, Canada.


Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply

Related Posts