Beckie Scott named to WADA Athlete Committee

FasterSkierApril 4, 2005

Montreal, March 29, 2005 — The World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) announced today that it has appointed 13 members to its newly-formed Athlete Committee. The aim of this working committee is to allow WADA closer contact with athletes and to give the Agency better insight into their questions and concerns regarding doping.

The following members were appointed:

– Mr Viacheslav Fetisov (Chair of the Committee)
Chairman of the State Committee for Physical Culture and Sport (Minister of Sport)
Olympic and world champion in ice hockey
Russian Federation

– Mr Marcus De Freire
Technical Director of the Brazilian Olympic Committee
Member of the Athletes Commission of the Sports Ministry of Brazil
Olympic medalist in volleyball

РMr St̩phane Diagana
Member of the Athletes Commission of the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF)
World champion in athletics

– Ms Jacqui Cooper
Deputy Chair of the Athletes Commission of the Australian Olympic Committee
World champion in freestyle skiing

– Ms Janet Evans
Chairman of the Athletes Commission of the International Swimming Federation (FINA)
Olympic and world champion in swimming

– Ms Tanja Kari
Member of the Athletes Committee of the International Paralympic Committee
Paralympic and world champion in cross-country skiing

– Mr Anis Lounifi
World champion in judo

– Ms Rosa Mota
Member of the Superior Council of Sports of Portugal
Portuguese ambassador for fair play at the Council of Europe
Olympic and world champion in marathon

– Ms Beckie Scott
Spokesperson for “Sport for Life”, an anti-tobacco and drug program
Anti-doping campaign advocate
Olympic champion in cross-country skiing

– Ms Yoko Tanabe
Director of the Japan Anti-Doping Agency
Olympic and world medalist in judo

– Ms Sarah Ulmer
New Zealand Sports Drug Agency role model
Olympic and world champion in cycling
New Zealand

– Ms Yang Yang
Member of the Athletes Committee of the International Skating Union (ISU)
Member of the Chinese Olympic Committee
Olympic and World champion in short track speed skating

– IOC Athletes Commission member.

The formation of the Athlete Committee and the appointment of Mr Viacheslav Fetisov to chair the Committee were approved by WADA’s Executive Committee at its meeting on November 20, 2004. Following a call for nominations, WADA received 35 recommendations from sports authorities and governments.

The process of determining the composition of the Committee involved the Chair of the Committee, Viacheslav Fetisov, in consultation with WADA’s President, Richard W. Pound. Selection of members was based on a number of factors, including equal distribution, where possible, of representation between regions, sport and gender.

“We are very pleased to have such a high-quality group of athletes in place”, said Richard W. Pound, WADA’s President. “Clean athletes are the most powerful force against doping in sport. This Committee, through their experience and expertise, will assist us greatly in our fight against doping, and I am confident that it will help us further develop our important task of educating athletes worldwide about the consequences of doping.”

WADA’s Athlete Committee will hold its first meeting shortly in Montreal, on a date to be determined.


Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply