Lars Flora and Lindsey Weier Win 10/15KM Classic Races at CXC Super Tour at Telemark Resort

FasterSkierJanuary 28, 2007

Racer’s were greeted at bib pickup this morning with a jumbo screen wire to wire video of the A final at the Estonian World Cup. Seeing Koos, Newell and Cook doing so well had everyone fired up and excited to get after it. Temperatures were in the low single digits but the sun was shining for the 10/15km Classical interval start CXC Super Tour at Telemark Resort.

The course today was shortened due to thin snow to a 2.4 km loop with a man made base of bomb proof full depth tracks and one inch of miraculously appearing natural fluff overnight. The organizers laid out a format similar to the previous week at Itasca. 40-15 second interval starts with a 20-30 minute break, repeated through the seeded Men and Women. Action was tight with room to pass on the double tracked best line course. Competition was exciting for the athletes and great for the large turn out of spectators. With over 400 starts, many of whom were High School and JO racers in the afternoon, there were gangs of younger athletes and their parents to cheer on their SuperTour and Collegiate heroes in the morning events.

Lars Flora (Subaru Factory) again showed why he is the Super Tour Overall Leader, winning by over 31.8 seconds in 37:45.5. Zach Violett (FSx) who raced yesterday’s 45km Noquemanon, skied a strong race finishing second in 38:18.3. Vahur Teppan (UAF) took third place in 38:33.7 ahead of Bryan Cook (CXC), 38:38.7 and Marius Korthauer (UAF), 38:47.5. Teppan was the top U23 and top collegiate skier. Top Juniors included Henri Soom (UAF) OJ, Jesse Smith (Traverse City) J1, Tony Mattioli (Superiorland) J2, Nate Brown (Minnehaha Nordic) J3, and Luke Brown (Moose Nordic) J4. Luke Gesior (Waukesha, WI HS) won the boys HS class.

Lindsey Weier (NMU) stormed the women’s race by 26.6 seconds to win in 27:44.6. Laura Valaas (CXC) who has dominated the Super Tour sprints proved that she skis distance races real well too, finishing second in 28:11.2. Lindsay Williams (NMU) finished a close third, 28:13.4. All three women are members of the 2007 US U23 World Championships team originally scheduled to begin on Monday, but now postponed until March. Martina Stursova (Rossignol) finished fourth 28:30.9 ahead of Kristina Strandberg (Subaru) 28:38.7 and Caitlin Compton (CXC) 28.47.5. Kristina won the Noquamenon 45k Classic the day before. Compton hung tough throughout the race despite a crash in the first lap which left her face bloodied and the look of a prize fighter rather than an XC racer. Top Juniors were Elizabeth Quinley (MTU) OJ, Christina Michica (Copper Country) J1, Katie Holway (Superiorland) J2, Chelsea Tremblay (Hayward) J3, Keely Jackson (Hayward) J4, and Sarah Daniels (Burnsville, MN) High School.

The CXC Central Grand Prix continues next weekend in Minneapolis at the City Of Lakes Loppet with a Freestyle Sprint and a 30km Freestyle Mass Start. For more race information check out

Lindsey Weier (NMU): “It was a good race for me today. The course was fun because you got to see other skiers often as it looped back and forth. It was great for spectators too and I was happy to have my Mom and Dad here to watch the race. Also, thanks to my NMU coaches for the great skis today.”

Lars Flora (Subaru Factory): “I started a bit slower today, but felt like I got faster and faster as the race progressed. I rode a high threshold and was pleased with the race. I have felt stronger and stronger throughout each race of the Central Grand Prix. Thanks to Yuriy Gusev for playing video from the race in Estonia on the big screen at Telemark Resort. It is great to see the team doing so well. The confidence will play to our advantage going into World Championships.”

Full race results are posted at

[Results corrected @ 10pm Central time]

Top 10 Women CXC Telemark Resort Super Tour 2007
1 WEIER, Lindsey Northern Michigan 5522420 3535027SR153 CC7276SR 0:27:44.61
2 VALAAS, Laura CXC Team 5570122 3535143SR164 MW7526SR 0:28:11.22
3 WILLIAMS, Lindsay Northern Michigan 5730833 3535029SR154 CC7277SR 0:28:13.43
4 STURSOVA, Martina Rossignol Elite 1273028SR146 0:28:30.94
5 STRANDBERG, Kristina Subaru Factory Team 5944616 1335690SR145 0:28:38.75
6 COMPTON, Caitlin CXC Team 5188735 3535021SR149 MW7521SR 0:28:47.56
7 KORTHAUER, Aurelia Alaska Nanooks 6113914 3205077SR156 CC7177SR 0:29:00.47
8 SMYTH, Morgan Northern Michigan 5744859 3535071SR148 CC7273SR 0:29:02.98
9 OWEN, Kristina Michigan Tech 5624168 3535100SR157 CC7397SR 0:29:31.19
10 STUBER, Maria Northern Michigan 5729777 3535184SR161 CC7274SR 0:30:05.510

Top 10 Men CXC Super Tour Classical
1 17 FLORA, Lars SR Subaru Factory Team 0:37:45.5
2 22 VIOLETT, Zachary SR FSx / XC-Oregon 0:38:18.3
3 9 TEPPAN, Vahur SR Alaska Nanooks 0:38:33.7
4 11 COOK, Bryan SR CXC Team 0:38:38.7
5 27 KORTHAUER, Marius SR Alaska Nanooks 0:38:47.5
6 29 STRABEL, Eric SR APU 0:38:47.6
7 28 GREENE, Marshall SR Alpina/XC Oregon/Madshus 0:38:57.8
8 39 BANERUD, Martin SR Northern Michigan 0:39:05.6
9 38 LANG, Jesse SR Michigan Tech 0:39:22.6
10 24 OSGOOD, Brayton SR XC Oregon/Alpina 0:39:26.7

Photos by Seth Spencer:


Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply