2017 AXCS National Masters Named

FasterSkierFebruary 8, 2017
The 2017 AXCS National Masters held in conjunction with the annual City of Lakes Loppet Festival in Minneapolis, Minnesota wrapped up on Sunday with the naming of the honorary 2017 U.S. Masters XC Ski Team.
Based on the top individual in each masters age group, the team was selected using a modified World Cup point system over the best 2 of 2 events at the NM2017. Because the Festival offers multiple race distances in both classic and freestyle techniques, in order to be eligible for the Masters Team designation, skiers had to race the specified official NM2017 distance offered each day.

Classic events on Saturday and freestyle events on Sunday both took place on 6k and 4.8k loops of nearly entirely manmade snow offering generally excellent race conditions. The race courses used for the NM2017 will make up the core of the extended courses to be offered next January 19-26, 2018 as the 2018 Masters World Cup comes to Minneapolis.

The skiers named to the U.S. Masters XC Ski Team will all receive a distinctive uniform piece from Podiumwear — the official sponsor of the U.S. Masters Team.

2017 Women’s U.S. Masters XC Ski Team
F4 — Kitty Earl-Torniainen
F5 — Marian Delaney
F6 — Jan Guenther
F7 — Katherine Ellis
F8 — Victoria Shreve
F9 — Connie Meek
F10 — Abett Icks

2017 Men’s U.S. Masters XC Ski Team
M1 — Erik Pieh
M3 — Andy Schakel
M4 — John Munger
M5 — Piotr Bednarski
M6 — Scott Ellertson & Allen Hanson
(Note: unbreakable tie with both 1st and 2nd finishes)
M7 — John Gravlin
M8 — David Christopherson
M9 — Charles Duede
M10 — Bob Gray

Congratulations to all the 2017 U.S. Masters XC Ski Team athletes for their outstanding results at the NM2017!

For complete NM2017 results please visit loppet.org. For complete AXCS National Masters information please visit xcskiworld.com.


Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply