U.S. Fills Quota, Names 20 to XC Olympic Team

FasterSkierJanuary 26, 2018

Via Facebook on Friday, U.S. Ski & Snowboard announced its 20-athlete roster for the U.S. Cross-Country team at upcoming Winter Olympics in PyeongChang, South Korea.

The U.S. Cross Country Ski Team will be one of the largest at the 2018 Olympics with a full squad of 20 athletes, with 11 women and nine men. Twelve of the 20 are U.S. Ski Team members.

According to a press release, “The team includes 20 athletes who qualified for the team through World Cup results as well as domestic racing results at the L.L.Bean U.S. Cross Country Championships.”

The release notes four discretionary picks: Annie Hart, Patrick Caldwell, Noah Hoffman, and Tyler Kornfield.

“The U.S. Ski Team is headed to PyeongChang with one of the most talented and decorated Olympic Teams of all time,” U.S. Ski Team Head Coach Chris Grover said in the press release. “Never in our history have we fielded a team with so many podium-proven World Cup and World Championship athletes. We also have incredible momentum in this Olympic season with 10 World Cup podiums secured by early January. These USA Olympians have prepared extremely well for PyeongChang and are looking to rewrite U.S. cross country skiing history.”

2018 U.S. Olympic Cross Country Skiing Team

  1. Erik Bjornsen (U.S. Ski Team/Alaska Pacific University)
  2. Patrick Caldwell (USST/Stratton Mountain School T2)
  3. Simi Hamilton (USST/SMST2)
  4. Logan Hanneman (APU)
  5. Reese Hanneman (APU)
  6. Noah Hoffman (Ski & Snowboard Club Vail)
  7. Tyler Kornfield (APU)
  8. Andy Newell (USST/SMS T2)
  9. Scott Patterson (USST/APU)
  10. Sadie Bjornsen (USST/APU)
  11. Rosie Brennan (USST/APU)
  12. Sophie Caldwell (USST/SMS T2)
  13. Jessie Diggins (USST/SMS T2)
  14. Rosie Frankowski (APU)
  15. Annie Hart (SMS T2)
  16. Kaitlynn Miller (Craftsbury Green Racing Project)
  17. Caitlin Patterson (CGRP)
  18. Kikkan Randall (USST/APU)
  19. Ida Sargent (USST/CGRP)
  20. Liz Stephen (USST)

Cross Country Staff

  • Chris Grover, Cross Country Head Coach
  • Matt Whitcomb, Cross Country Coach
  • Jason Cork, Cross Country Coach
  • Oleg Ragilo, Head of Service
  • Jean-Pascal Laurin, Service Team
  • Marek Sander, Service Team
  • Andrew Morehouse, Service Team
  • Tim Baucom, Service Team
  • Eli Brown, Volunteer tech
  • Patrick Moore, Volunteer tech
  • Erik Flora, Volunteer coach and tech
  • Dr. Larry Gaul, Physician
  • Zuzana Rogers, Volunteer physical therapist
  • Steph McKeen, Volunteer massage therapist
  • Robert Lazzaroni, Cross country director


Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply