U.S. Paralympics Nordic Skiing Names 2016/2017 National Team

BrainspiralJune 3, 2016

U.S. Paralympics logo

(Press release)

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (June 1) — Seven athletes, including five U.S. Paralympians, were announced to the 2016-2017 U.S. Paralympics Nordic Skiing National Team by U.S. Paralympics, a division of the United States Olympic Committee.

“The high quality of our national team this season is very encouraging,” said Paralympic Nordic Skiing head coach Eileen Carey. “All of our athletes have shown themselves to be competitive as they continually challenge for medals on the international stage.”

Headlining the team is two-time Paralympic medalist Oksana Masters (Louisville, Kentucky) who comes off a perfect 2015-16 campaign in cross-country competition. She went undefeated in sprint, middle and long distances to claim her second consecutive overall world cup globe for the women’s sitting class at the IPC Cross-Country Skiing World Cup Finals in Vuokatti, Finland in March. She also amassed the most world cup cross-country points throughout the season than any other female on the world cup circuit.

The roster also includes three military veterans: Sean Halsted (Rathdrum, Idaho), ret., Air Force, Bryan Price (Belton, Missouri), ret. Army and Paralympic medalist Andy Soule (Pearland, Texas), ret. Army.

Making their national team debut are two newcomers Joy Rondeau (Granby, Colorado) and Mia Zutter (Sun Prairie, Wisconsin). Both competed in their first international competitions at the world cup in Finsterau, Germany which will play host to the 2016 IPC Nordic Skiing World Championships.

Team USA finished the 2015-16 strong with nine medals in the final two world cups, including three gold medals at the World Cup Finals. The team will face an important year in preparation for the 2018 Paralympic Winter Games. Before the world championships in February, the team will travel to world cups in Finland, Ukraine and Japan as well as South Korea for the PyeongChang Test Event.

2016-2017 U.S. Paralympics Nordic Skiing National Teams

*Denotes 2014 U.S. Paralympian
# Denotes retired U.S. Military

A Team

*Oksana Masters (Louisville, Kentucky), sit ski

*#Andy Soule (Pearland, Texas/Army), sit ski

B Team

*Jake Adicoff (Sun Valley, Idaho), visually impaired

Development Team

*#Sean Halsted (Rathdrum, Idaho/Air Force), sit ski

*#Bryan Price (Belton, Missouri/Army), sit ski

Joy Rondeau (Granby, Colorado), sit ski


Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply