Canada Enters 30, U.S. 27 at World Cup Finals in Quebec (Updated x3)

FasterSkierMarch 14, 2017
Alex Harvey racing in the men’s 15 k freestyle pursuit at Stage 4 of the Ski Tour Canada last year in Quebec City. (Photo:

For the second-straight year, the World Cup’s season-ending races will be held in Canada, with Québec City hosting 2017 World Cup Finals, this Friday through Sunday. Canada initially announced a roster of 30 (15 women, 15 men) for the three-day mini tour, and the U.S. selected 27 (15 women and 12 men), with both countries maximizing their Nation’s Group “home” quota for the event in downtown Québec City.

Note: On Tuesday, Cross Country Canada (CCC) announced it would be releasing a revised roster “due to some CPL points errors in calculations,” according to a press release. On Thursday, FasterSkier confirmed that the list included the same 15 women and 15 men that were originally published on FasterSkier.

And on Wednesday, Quebec organizers announced that the times of each race would be moved back an hour “upon FIS recommendation” to satisfy international broadcast schedules. The updated times are listed below.

2017 World Cup Finals race schedule (updated Wednesday):

(All times Eastern Daylight Time)

  • Friday, March 17: Freestyle sprint (qualifier starts at 11:45 a.m.; heats at 2:15 p.m.)
  • Saturday, March 18: 10/15 k classic mass starts (women’s race at 10:40 a.m.; men at 1 p.m.)
  • Sunday, March 19: 10/15 k freestyle pursuits (women’s race at 11:20 a.m.; men at 12:45 p.m.)

Here are the North American lineups, as well as info on the U.S. selection criteria, and Canadian selection criteria.



  1. Dahria Beatty (National U25 Team/AWCA)
  2. Emily Nishikawa (World Cup B-team)
  3. Cendrine Browne (NST U25 Team/CNEPH)
  4. Katherine Stewart-Jones (NST U25 Team/NTDC Thunder Bay)
  5. Sophie Carrier-Laforte (CNEPH)
  6. Katie Weaver (Junior National Ski Team/Hollyburn)
  7. Annika Richardson (Junior NST/NTDC Thunder Bay)
  8. Lisle Compton (NTDC Thunder Bay)
  9. Annika Hicks (AWCA)
  10. Sadie White (NTDC Thunder Bay)
  11. Andrea Dupont (RMR)
  12. Frédérique Vézina (CNEPH)
  13. Alannah MacLean (NTDC Thunder Bay)
  14. Mia Serratore (NTDC Thunder Bay)
  15. Laura Leclair (Junior NST/Chelsea Nordiq)

(Note: Jenn Jackson of Lappe Nordic declined her spot)


  1. Alex Harvey (World Cup A-team)
  2. Devon Kershaw (World Cup A-team)
  3. Len Valjas (World Cup A-team)
  4. Jess Cockney (World Cup B-team)
  5. Graeme Killick (World Cup B-team)
  6. Knute Johnsgaard (NST U25 Team/AWCA)
  7. Russell Kennedy (Canmore Nordic/Team R.A.D.)
  8. Gareth Williams (Junior NST/Telemark)
  9. Andy Shields (Lappe Nordic)
  10. Bob Thompson (NTDC Thunder Bay)
  11. Joey Foster (Team Hardwood)
  12. Julien Locke (NST U25 Team/AWCA)
  13. Evan Palmer-Charrette (NTDC Thunder Bay)
  14. Brian McKeever (Canadian Para-Nordic Ski Team)
  15. Ricardo Izquierdo-Bernier (CNEPH)



  1. Kikkan Randall (U.S. Ski Team A-team/APU)
  2. Sadie Bjornsen (USST A-team/APU)
  3. Liz Stephen (USST A-team)
  4. Caitlin Patterson (CGRP)
  5. Rosie Brennan (USST B-team/APU)
  6. Erika Flowers (SMS Elite)
  7. Jennie Bender (BSF)
  8. Julia Kern (USST D-team/SMS Elite)
  9. Liz Guiney (CGRP)
  10. Kaitlynn Miller (CGRP)
  11. Chelsea Holmes (APU)
  12. Becca Rorabaugh (APU)
  13. Jessie Diggins (USST A-team/SMS Elite)
  14. Sophie Caldwell (USST A-team/SMS Elite)
  15. Ida Sargent (USST A-team/CGRP)

(Note: Katharine Ogden, of the SMS Elite Team and U.S. Ski Team D-team, declined her spot due to “ongoing stomach issues,” according to U.S. head coach Chris Grover. Guiney was the first alternate as she was next on the SuperTour list.)


  1. Andy Newell (USST A-team/SMS Elite)
  2. Noah Hoffman (USST B-team/Ski Club Vail)
  3. Erik Bjornsen (USST B-team/APU)
  4. Matt Gelso (SVSEF)
  5. David Norris (APU)
  6. Ben Lustgarten (CGRP)
  7. Cole Morgan (SVSEF)
  8. Patrick Caldwell (USST D-team/SMS Elite)
  9. Jack Hegman (SVSEF)
  10. Brian Gregg (Team Gregg/Loppet Nordic Racing)
  11. Scott Patterson (APU)
  12. Simi Hamilton (USST A-team/SMS Elite)
A view from the steep hill on the sprint course with the stadium area in background, as seen during training last year in Quebec City, one day before the third stage of the 2016 Ski Tour Canada. (Photo: John Lazenby/


Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply